taxes & incentives 

Town Property Tax
Kamsack property taxes are determined by multiplying the amount of the property assessment by the mill rate and then by the mill rate factor. This formula is used for residential, commercial and agriculture properties.

Municipal taxes are based on a fiscal year from January 1 to December 31. 

Property taxes are based on your property’s assessed value, which results in distributing the tax load so owners of properties with similar value pay similar taxes.    The assessed value of your property is determined by the Saskatchewan Assessment Management Agency (SAMA).    

In a reassessment year the assessed value of properties usually increases, however, this does not mean property taxes will increase.  Property taxes are based on the budgetary needs of the Town.  When a reassessment occurs, the town modifies the factors used to determine the final tax rate to try and make the reassessment ‘revenue neutral’. 

Percentages of Value (POV)
In 2017 the Province of Saskatchewan also announced changes to the percentages of value (POV) used in the assessment process.  Prior to 2017, the taxable assessment on residential property was calculated at 70% of the total assessed value.  This rate was changed to 80% in 2017.  Non-arable (range) land or pasture land had the POV increased from 40% to 45%.   Percentages of value for all other property types, commercial, industrial, cultivated agricultural land remain the same.

Key Dates
January 1st, 2020 to March 31st, 2020 – 5% discount on property tax payments
April 1st, 2020 to June 30th, 2020 - 3% discount on property tax payments
July 1st, 2020 to August 31st, 2020 – 1% discount on property tax payments

December 31st, 2020 – property taxes are due
January 1st, 2021 – 5% penalty on unpaid property taxes ​

Residential and Business Property Tax Incentives
The Town of Kamsack has incentives available for residential construction and expansion and for persons or corporations who build or purchase a new and existing businesses. For detailed information, please Town Office at (306) 542-2155.